Rip Off Your Labels | I am NOT Black, You are NOT White.

We’re all labelled.

Black. White. Asian. Gay. Catholic. Atheist.

The list goes on and on.

 

We’re not items at a shop, being used and abused. Then thrown away.

We’re all people. We’re all the same yet so different.

All these labels cause wars, racism, discrimination, fear, torture, depression.

 

No one started off like this. Babies and kids make friends with whoever they want, no matter what they look like, no matter who they are.

No one’s born racist. No one’s born screaming “I’m white!”

 

Ever since I realised that people had these labels, I never knew where I fit into that.

Those information sheets, you get at school, always made me feel insecure. The ones with the lists of labels you had to tick, which applied to you. Are you black, white, Indian, American, European? I always had to pick ‘other’ because I don’t exactly fit into any of them.

Why do we need to tick these labels? How does it affect who we are?

 

But the truth is, people always judge people based on what they look like. People make assumptions on who you are. If you’re black, you must be a thug. If you’re white, you can’t dance. If you’re a stong Christian, you must discriminate against gays.

These stereotypes. These typical beliefs and assumptions.

 

We don’t need these labels.

They do not define us.

 

Watch the video and share it with people you know. I sent it to the majority of people on my contacts. Share it with at least one.

 

Go on an adventure.

-Shay :3

9 thoughts on “Rip Off Your Labels | I am NOT Black, You are NOT White.

  1. Ruth says:

    I watched this video a while ago and seriously… it’s amazing! I do have faith in our generation though, because now a lot of people have learned to accept everyone.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.